Tags

, , ,

No, I didn’t bake a cake yet again! I can control myself and limit my cake baking to one (max 2) cakes per month..I think.
But I just wanted to share these pictures of a cake I made sometime around the beginning of May, long before I started blogging. It seemed like the perfect cake to bake for the start of spring and I love it for being beautiful and elegant yet still really simple at the same time.

It’s three layers of pistachio cake filled and covered with rose water flavored swiss meringue buttercream and topped with sugared rose petals and chopped pistachios. You can find the recipe here. I love Poires au Chocolat’s baking blog, I feel the author gives so much personality to each of her creations. I followed her recipe when making the cake but I used a slightly larger 7 inch pan instead of 5 inch so I ended up increasing the cake recipe by 50%. And I still only managed to get a three layer cake because since I’m not the most graceful when it comes to splitting a cake in two, I broke one half and it fell on the floor. Oh, well..practice makes perfect I guess.

What I liked most about making this cakes was decorating it. I did the rose petals the night before baking the cake and I don’t think I ever thought I could make something that pretty with such little effort. It’s only a matter of brushing some egg white onto the petals and the lightly covering them with sugar.

One thing I regret though, was adding a tad too much rose water to the buttercream. In the instruction the author clearly states that a little amount goes a long way when it comes to rose water. I was really excited about the rose water though, since I’d never used that flavor before so I kind of overdid it. I felt the buttercream tasted too flowery.

It still looks pretty though.

